Tuesday Night: All North Country School Budgets Pass


Despite concern about public anger over government spending, voters across the north country passed school budgets Tuesday night.

Among districts making substantial staff cuts:

Thousand Islands Central's budget passed 450-227. Thousand Islands plans to cut 20 positions.

A proposal to buy three buses passed 401-261, storm drain work at Cape Vincent Elementary passed 437-199 and installation of a wind turbine passed 384-25.

Incumbents Mike Bashaw and John Warneck were unopposed for re-election to the school board, and James Ganter, who was originally appointed to the board, was elected.

Carthage, which plans to cut 32 positions, passed its budget 499-217. Voters also agreed to buy up to 13 buses, 466-345 and fund libraries, 491-316. Incumbent Lori Miller was re-elected to the school board and former board member Barb Lofink was elected.

Watertown's budget passed 581-257, and a proposal to tear down the closed Butterfield school passed 557-270. Incumbents Cindy Bufalini and Pete Monaco were returned to the board. Watertown will cut 19 positions in the coming year.

General Brown's budget passed 562-495, and a proposal to buy three school buses pased 645-378. Tasha Richards and Bruce Strough took seats on the school board. General Brown's budget cuts 21 jobs and raises the tax levy 3.9 percent.

In Massena, the budget passed 573-354, and a proposal to buy four buses passed 532-343.

Andrew Soutar, Ronald Faucher and John Boyce won school board races.

The budget of $44 million is nearly $2 million lower than the current year's spending plan. 35 jobs are being cut in a variety of ways, with 18 of them coming from layoffs.

Indian River, which is the only district to add jobs in the coming year, passed its budget 239-82. Robin Johnson beat incumbent Donald Brumfield for school board 197-155, while Frank Laverghetta was unopposed for the other seat.

Potsdam Central's budget, which is $292,000 less than the current year's spending plan, passed 591-221. A proposal to buy two buses passed 563-229, and Mark Frascatore, Thomas Hobbs, Ralph Fuller (incumbent) and James McGuire (incumbent) were all elected to the school board.

Other results:

- Belleville-Henderson's budget passed 321-101, as did a proposal to buy a school bus, 342-79. Daniel Maitland won a seat on the school board.

- Morristown Central's budget passed 134-57, with a proposal to buy a bus passing 133-58. Incumbent Chuck Alford and write-in Jane Kring, both unopposed, took seats on the school board.

- The Clifton Fine school district's budget passed 266-42. The proposed budget is a bit less than this year's budget, and the tax levy is also reduced, by 2 percent. Michelle Durham, Mary Fraser and Robert Tebo III were elected to the board.

- Ogdensburg's budget passed 384-258, with Mike Tooley and Renee Grizzuto taking positions on the school board.

- South Jefferson, which faces a 6.9 percent increase in the tax levy because of a state aid cut, saw its budget pass 370-348. A proposition to buy five buses passed 371-344 and a library proposition passed 431-288. Two incumbents, Dr. John Peebles and Pamela Thomas, were unopposed. 

- Hermon-Dekalb's budget passed 155-64, and a proposal to buy a school bus passed 154-66. Three incumbents were unopposed: Mark Finley, Crystal Simmons and Angela Grant.

- Sackets Harbor's budget passed 354-154, and a proposal to buy a school bus passed 340-167. Angela Green was elected to the school board.

- Canton Central's budget passed 545-168. A proposal to buy two school buses passed 550-151 and the Canton free library proposal passed 511-110. Two incumbents were returned to the school board - Phillip Burnett and Janet Favro. Angelique Santimaw also was elected.

- Lyme Central's budget passed 206-107; the proposal to buy a school bus passed 213-101; library support passed 203-111; incumbent Gary Nicholson was returned to the board.

- Gouverneur Central's budget passed 262-119; incumbents Barry Smith, Roger Cook and Laurie Roberts were returned to the school board.

- Lafargeville Central's budget passed 147-49, and Patrick Labiendo, an incumbent, was unopposed for school board.

- Lisbon's budget passed 141-93. Megan Bowdish, an incumbent, was unopposed for the school board.

- Madrid-Waddington's budget passed 254-167; buy two buses passed 281-135; Matthew O'Bryan won a seat on the school board.

- Alexandria Central budget passes 331-83; Cathryn Munna and Larry McCauley win school board seats.

- Parishville-Hopkinton school budget passes 129-52; buy two buses passes 135-45; establish capital reserve passes 130-44; incumbent William Witherell and B. Resa Remington win board seats.

- Copenhagen budget passes 108-44; buy school bus 97-53; head start transportation 120-21; Prudence Kunert re-elected to school board, unopposed

- South Lewis budget passes 305-117; buy three buses and a pick-up 286-128; Joan Pominville and Richard Ventura win school board seats

- Heuvelton budget passes 190-146; buy school bus 223-101; Dick Moore wins school board seat.

- Harrisville budget passes 183-89; buy a bus 181-86; library funding 154-114; James Sullivan unopposed for school board.

- Sandy Creek budget passes 279-55; capital reserve fund 268-60; buy 3.3 acres of land, 253-74; Tammy Miller and John Shelmadine win school board seats.

- Brasher Falls Central budget passes 232-92; buy three buses 194-103; Mary Margaret Bellinger and Arthur Siebert elected to board. Two teachers are being laid off, plus a part-time teaching assistant. In addition, four jobs are being cut from full to part-time.

- Hammond budget  passes 162-63; Marjorie McCullough wins school board seat

- Pulaski Central budget passes 341-151; a bus reserve withdrawal 369-116; incumbents Daniel Krupke, Frank Catanzarite and Michael Monnat win seats on school board.

- Norwood Norfolk budget passes 313-141; establish capital reserve 335-133; buy two buses 307-128; Stephanie Allen, Suzanne Fiacco and Jon Hazen win school board seats.

- Colton-Pierrepont budget passes 144-128; establish capital reserve fund 142-130; Jeff Angleberger, incumbent, and Kay Stone win school board seats. The district expects to lose $274,000 in state aid, and projects a 4.59 percent levy increase.

- Beaver River budget passes 360-174; buy two school buses passes 357-173; renovations to K-12 school passes 351-177; tax levy increase for Croghan library 315-207; Marion Opela, incumbent, elected to school board. Two teaching positions will be cut, and four teaching assistant positions will be cut.

- Edwards-Knox budget passes 102-53; buy two school buses passes 122-38; Lynn Collier, unopposed, wins school board seat.

- Lowville Academy budget passes 395-150; buy three buses passes 377-167; Headstart in Martinsburg allowed to ride school buses passes 419-127; library increase 388-156; Paul Kelly, Arlene Hall, both incumbents and Patrick Anderson all elected to school board.



Thursday, December 8, 2016
, Watertown, NY

On Demand

This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

On Wall Street