What you need to know for Tuesday’s primary elections

wwny What you need to know for Tuesday’s primary elections

WATERTOWN, N.Y. (WWNY) - The primary elections are Tuesday.

In Watertown, there will be primaries for mayor and city council.

“The city is a non-partisan election so anyone that’s registered to vote can go and vote in the city,” said Babette Hall of the Jefferson County Board of Elections.

Watertown Mayor Joe Butler is not running for reelection, but four candidates are on the ballot for the job this year.

They are Jeffery Smith, Cody Horbacz, Allison Crossman, and Clifford Olney.

When you go into vote, those 4 names will be on a ballot and you pick one.

There are 8 city council candidates. They are are Frank Roberts, Stanley Cosper, Sarah Compo, Patrick Hickey, Robert Schorr, Matthew Melvin, Aaron Clemons, and Jesse Roshia.

You can vote for 2 of them.

The two mayoral candidates and the four council candidates with the most votes will move on to the general election.

While there is a non-partisan primary in the city of Watertown, some elections in both Jefferson and Lewis counties are different.

“For the other elections for the towns and in the villages are Republican primaries, so you need to be affiliated with and be enrolled in the Republican Party to vote in that primary,” said Hall.

In Lewis County, the treasurer candidates in a Republican primary are Denise Yost and Eric Virkler.

Lewis County Clerk Republican primary is between Jake Moser and John Healt.

There are also town and village races in Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence counties.

All polling places will be open from noon to 9 p.m. Tuesday. We will have primary coverage online and live on 7 News starting at 10 p.m. Tuesday.

Copyright 2019 WWNY. All rights reserved.