Section 3 unveils 2020 football schedule

Section 3 football schedule unveiled

WATERTOWN, N.Y. (WWNY) - The area high school sports schedule may be at a standstill due to the coronavirus, but on Thursday Section 3 unveiled its 2020 football schedule.

There are some changes for area teams, with the season for class A, B,C,D and eight-man teams opening on Friday night, September 11.

Class A has added two teams to make it an even 10 and because of that, the defending champion Carthage Comets will be playing in the Class A National Division while the Indian River warriors will be playing in the Class A American Division.

The Comets and the Warriors play on Friday, October 9 in Philadelphia with kickoff set for 7 p.m.

South Jefferson remains the lone team from the area in Class B. They will once again be in the Class B West Division with Cortland, Homer, Marcellus, Syracuse Tech, and Westhill.

In Class C, both the defending champions Lowville Red Raiders and the General Brown Lions will be playing in the C-1 division.

The Lions and Red Raiders open the 2020 season against one another with that contest set for September 11 at Fisher Field in Dexter. Kickoff is set for 7 p.m.

In Class D, three area teams comprise the D North-West Division, with the Beaver River Beavers, Thousand Islands Vikings, and Sandy Creek Comets making up 60 percent of the division.

The Beavers travel to Sandy Creek for an October 2 contest set to kick off at 7 p.m. and the following week host the Thousand Islands Vikings on Friday, October 9. Kickoff for that contest is set for 7 p.m.

Sandy Creek and Thousand Islands meet Friday, September 25 in Cape Vincent for a 7 p.m. kickoff.

Once again this year, the South Lewis Falcons will be looking to continue their dominance in the eight-man league.

Copyright 2020 WWNY. All rights reserved.