ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) - The minimum wage is going up in New York in 2021 and a new sick leave law is coming into effect.
The hourly minimum wage increased from $11.80 to $12.50 everywhere in the state except New York City, Long Island, and Westchester.
New York City’s minimum capped out at $15 a year ago. Long Island and Westchester saw an increase this year from $13 to $14.
Employees at most businesses can start using sick days that a new law allowed them to start accruing in September. The rate is one hour for every 30 hours worked.
Gov. Andrew Cuomo’s office says about 1.3 million New Yorkers didn’t have access to paid sick leave before the law.