4 chambers of commerce to become 1

St. Lawrence County map
St. Lawrence County map(WWNY)
Published: Aug. 24, 2023 at 6:04 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CANTON, New York (WWNY) - Four St. Lawrence County chambers of commerce are merging into one entity.

According to a release from the St. Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce, its membership voted 97-1 in favor of merging with the Canton, Massena, and Ogdensburg chambers.

Members of the three chambers had already voted for the merger.

County Chamber Executive Director Ben Dixon said in a statement, “we can now advance plans for the support and promotion of the businesses and communities involved.”

The merger now needs approval from New York’s Department of State.