Republicans Keep Control Of St. Lawrence Legislature

Republicans Keep Control Of St. Lawrence Legislature

Posted: Updated:

Republicans will continue to control the St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators, but with a slightly smaller majority.

In District 10, Potsdam, Democrat David Haggard beat Republican Nicholas Pignone for the seat being vacated by Republican Joe Timmerman, who did not run for reelection.

In District 11, including part of Potsdam along with the town of Stockholm, Democratic challenger Nance Arquiett unseated Republican Chad Colbert.

Meanwhile in District 15, including parts of Louisville and Massena, Republican Rita Curran defeated Democrat M. Shawna Cecot. Incumbent Democrat Lisa Bell did not run for reelection.

Those races appear to cut the 10-5 Republican majority on the board to 9-6.

Legislature Chairman Kevin Acres turned back a challenge from Kaitlyn Tyndall and board Vice Chair Joe Lightfoot defeated his Democratic challenger, Mike Hammond.

Former County Legislator Bill Sheridan returns to the board, defeating Democrat Barbara Finnie in District 4. Incumbent Republican Joel St. Pierre didn't run for reelection.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 Frankly Media and WWNY. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.